top of page

3rd FOI Online Awards announced, Konkona Sen Sharma's A Death In The Gunj bags the Best Feature Film

In its 3rd edition since conception, the winners of FOI Online Awards for feature films released in the annual year 2017 were announced on 16th January, 2018. The annual online poll, which considers both Jury as well as public voting, released nominations on 3rd January, 2018.

Konkona Sen Sharma’s directorial debut A Death In The Gunj emerged the big winner this year, bagging 6 wins out of the 14 nominations (also the most this year). The film bagged award for Best Feature Film, Best Direction (Sharma), Best Adapted Screenplay (Disha Rindani & Sharma), Best Performance By An Ensemble Cast, Best Cinematography (Sirsha Ray) and Best Background Score (Sagar Desai).

Coming to performances, Rajkummar Rao scored a double win this year, bagging both Best Actor in a Leading and Supporting Role for Newton and Bareilly Ki Barfi respectively. Vidya Balan won the Best Actress in a Leading Role for Tumhari Sulu, while Seema Pahwa won the very deserving Best Actress in a Supporting Role title for Bareilly Ki Barfi.

Other important wins include that of Arijit Singh, who won Best Playback Singer – Male title for the third consecutive time. VFX production house NY VFXwaala also bagged its third consecutive title for Best Special Effects/VFX.

Besides the award categories, 11 Special Jury Mentions were also announced.

Check out the complete list of winners below:

Best Feature Film: A Death In The Gunj

Best Direction: Konkona Sen Sharma, A Death In The Gunj

Best Actor In A Leading Role: Rajkummar Rao, Newton

Best Actress In A Leading Role: Vidya Balan, Tumhari Sullu

Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Rajkummar Rao, Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Seema Pahwa, Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Performance By An Ensemble Cast: A Death In The Gunj

Best Original Screenplay: Shubhashish Bhutiani, Mukti Bhawan

Best Adapted Screenplay: Disha Rindani & Konkona Sen Sharma, A Death In The Gunj

Best Dialogues: Nitesh Tiwari & Shreyas Jain, Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Music Direction: Pritam, Jagga Jasoos

Best Soundtrack: Saahiba, Phillauri

Best Playback Singer – Male: Arijit Singh, Hawaayein, Jab Harry Met Sejal

Best Playback Singer – Female: Meghna Mishra, Main Kaun Hoon, Secret Superstar

Best Lyricist: Irshad Kamil, Hawaayein, Jab Harry Met Sejal

Best Background Score: Sagar Desai, A Death In The Gunj

Best Cinematography: Sirsha Ray, A Death In The Gunj

Best Choreography: Vijay Ganguly & Ruel Dausan Varindani, Galti Se Mistake, Jagga Jasoos

Best Editing: Charu Shree Roy, Lipstick Under My Burkha

Best Sound Design: Anish John, Trapped

Best Production Design: Raja & Rajat Poddar, Jagga Jasoos

Best Costume Design: Dolly Ahluwalia, Rangoon

Best Make-Up & Hair-styling: Clover Wootton & Preetisheel Singh, Rangoon

Best Action Direction: Tom Struthers, Tiger Zinda Hai

Best Special Effects/VFX: Prasad Sutar (NY VFXwaala), Jagga Jasoos

SPECIAL JURY MENTIONS: Adil Hussain (Actor), Mukti Bhawan

Aditi Inamdar (Actress), Poorna

Milind Dhaimade (Screenplay Writer), Tu Hai Mera Sunday

Mohan Kannan (Playback Singer), Newton

Nila Madhab Panda (Director), Kadvi Hawa

Parul Sondh (Production Designer), Daddy

Rahul Bose (Director), Poorna

Rohit Sharma (Music Director), Anaarkali Of Aarah

Shweta Tripathi (Actress), Haraamkhor

Shweta Venkat Mathew (Editor), Newton

Sushama Deshpande (Actress), Ajji


bottom of page