top of page

5thFOIOA Winners Announced: Ivan Ayr's Soni bags the Best Feature Film, Gully Boy scores big!

Geetika Vidya Ohlyan & Saloni Batra in a still from Soni.

The winners of the 5th FOI Online Awards for feature films released in the annual year 2019 have been finally announced. The annual online poll, which considers both Jury as well as Public voting, released nominations on 26th January, 2020.

Ivan Ayr’s Soni emerged as one of the top winners this year, bagging 3 wins out of the 5 nominations. The film bagged award for Best Feature Film, Best Original Screenplay (Ayr & Kislay) and Best Actress in a Leading for Geetika Vidya Ohlyan. The film also marks the feat of being the first non-theatrical release to earn a Best Feature Film nod, and eventually winning it at the FOIOAs.

Zoya Akhtar’s Gully Boy bagged the highest number of wins this year (8 out of 23 nominations) including Best Direction (Akhtar), Best Actor in a Leading Role (Ranveer Singh), Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Amruta Subhash), Best Cinematography (Jay Oza), Best Original Song (Train Song), Best Lyricist (Ankur Tewari & Divine), Best Background Score (Karsh Kale & The Salvage Audio Collective) & Best Production Design (Suzanne Caplan Merwanji).

Besides the award categories, 10 Special Jury Mentions were also announced.

Check out the complete list of winners below:

Best Feature Film: Soni

Best Direction: Gully Boy (Zoya Akhtar)

Best Original Screenplay: Soni (Ivan Ayr & Kislay)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Hamid (Aijaz Khan & Ravinder Randhawa)

Best Dialogues: Article 15 (Anubhav Sinha & Gaurav Solanki)

Best Actor In A Leading Role: Ranveer Singh, Gully Boy

Best Actress In A Leading Role: Geetika Vidya Ohlyan, Soni

Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Ranvir Shorey, Sonchiriya

Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Amruta Subhash, Gully Boy

Best Performance By An Ensemble Cast: Sonchiriya

Best Cinematography: Gully Boy (Jay Oza)

Best Editing: Article 15 (Yasha Pushpa Ramchandani)

Best Music Direction: Kabir Singh (Akhil Sachdeva, Amaal Mallik, Mithoon, Sachet-Parampara & Vishal Mishra)

Best Original Song: Train Song, Gully Boy

Best Playback Singer – Male: B Praak,Teri Mitti, Kesari

Best Playback Singer – Female: Shreya Ghoshal, Yeh Aaina, Kabir Singh

Best Lyricist: Ankur Tewari & Divine, Apna Time Ayega, Gully Boy

Best Background Score: Gully Boy (Karsh Kale & The Salvage Audio Collective)

Best Choreography: Ghar More Pardesiya, Kalank (Remo D'Souza)

Best Sound Design: Uri: The Surgical Strike (Bishwadeep Dipak Chatterjee & Nihar Ranjan Samal)

Best Production Design: Gully Boy (Suzanne Caplan Merwanji)

Best Costume Design: Kesari (Sheetal Sharma)

Best Make-Up & Hair Styling: Sonchiriya (Shrikant Desai)

Best Visual Effects: War (Scheherazade Bharda & Vishal Anand for yFX)

Best Action Direction: War (Franz Spilhaus, Parvez Shaikh, Paul Jennings & SeaYoung Oh)


Alia Bhatt (Actress), Gully Boy

Ben Kutchins & Timothy Gillis (Cinematographers), Photograph

Bhumi Pednekar (Actress), Sonchiriya

Mahesh Manjrekar (Actor), Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota

Manoj Pahwa (Actor), Article 15

Niren Bhatt (Dialogue Writer), Bala

Rasika Dugal (Actress), Hamid

Shahid Kapoor (Actor), Kabir Singh

Shruti Gupte (Production Designer), Photograph

Soni Razdan (Actress), Yours Truly

(Click here to view complete Nominations List)


bottom of page