top of page

8thFOIOA Winners Announced: Badhaai Do bags the Best Feature Film

Gulshan Devaiah, Rajkummar Rao, Bhumi Pednekar and Chum Darang in a still from Badhaai Do

Winners for the 8th FOI Online Awards were finally announced this evening, on 20th January 2023. The annual online poll, which considers votes by an exclusive community of film lovers, released nominations on 13th January 2023.

Badhaai Do by Harshavardhan Kulkarni bagged the top-most honour this year. The film also bagged awards for Best Original Screenplay, Best Actor in a Leading Role (Rajkummar Rao) and Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Sheeba Chaddha). Sanjay Leela Bhansali's Gangubai Kathiawadi and Anvitaa Dutt's Qala topped the tally with the most wins (in 6 categories each). While Bhansali's directorial earned titles in the categories of Best Direction, Best Actress in a Leading Role (Alia Bhatt), Best Dialogues, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design and Best Choreography - Qala swept the music categories with a win for Best Music Direction (Songs), Best Original Song, Best Lyricist, Best Playback Singer (Female), Best Playback Singer (Male), along with Best Costume Design.

In addition to winners in award categories, the jury also named 5 Special Mentions.

Check out the complete list of winners below:

Best Feature Film: Badhaai Do

Best Direction: Gangubai Kathiawadi (Sanjay Leela Bhansali)

Best Original Screenplay: Badhaai Do (Akshat Ghildial, Suman Adhikary & Harshavardhan Kulkarni)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Monica, O My Darling (Yogesh Chandekar)

Best Dialogues: Gangubai Kathiawadi (Prakash Kapadia & Utkarshini Vashishtha)

Best Actress in A Leading Role: Alia Bhatt, Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Actor in A Leading Role: Rajkummar Rao, Badhaai Do

Best Actress in A Supporting Role: Sheeba Chaddha, Badhaai Do

Best Actor in A Supporting Role: Vijay Varma, Darlings

Best Performance By An Ensemble Cast: Monica, O My Darling

Best Cinematography: Gangubai Kathiawadi (Sudeep Chatterjee)

Best Film Editing: An Action Hero (Ninad Khanolkar)

Best Sound Design & Mixing: Jalsa (Anthony B Jayaruban, Anmol Bhave, Boloy Kumar Doloi & Rahul Karpe)

Best Music Direction - Score: Jalsa (Gaurav Chatterji)

Best Music Direction - Songs: Qala (Amit Trivedi & Sagar Desai)

Best Original Song: Rubaaiyaan, Qala (Amit Trivedi, Swanand Kirkire & Shahid Mallya)

Best Lyricist: Swanand Kirkire, Rubaaiyaan, Qala

Best Playback Singer – Female: Sireesha Bhagavatula, Phero Na Najariya, Qala

Best Playback Singer – Male: Shahid Mallya, Rubaaiyaan, Qala

Best Production Design: Gangubai Kathiawadi (Subrata Chakraborty & Amit Ray)

Best Costume Design: Qala (Veera Kapur Ee)

Best Make-Up & Hair Styling: Laal Singh Chaddha (Tarannum Khan & Avan Contractor - Bblunt)

Best Visual Effects: Brahmāstra: Part One – Shiva (DNEG & ReDefine – Paul Norris, Jaykar Arudra, Viral Thakkar & Neelesh Gore)

Best Choreography: Jhume Re Gori, Gangubai Kathiawadi (Kruti Mahesh)

Best Action Direction: An Action Hero (Ian van Temperley & Stunt Silva)


Huma S. Qureshi (Actress) – Monica, O My Darling

Jasmeet K Reen (Director) – Darlings

Mona Singh (Actress) – Laal Singh Chaddha

Shanker Raman (Director) – Love Hostel

Surya Kasibhatla (Actor) – Jalsa

(Click here to view complete Nominations List)


bottom of page